2014 Atlantic Book Awards shortlists

book awards stickerThe recipients of the 2014 Atlantic Book Awards will be unveiled tonight (May 21) in Charlottetown!

Here is the full list of this year’s Atlantic Book Awards nominees:

D250 Atlantic Book Award For Historical Writing
The August Gales, by Gerald Hallowell (Nimbus Publishing)
The Ballad of Jacob Peck, by Debra Komar (Goose Lane Editions)
Black Loyalists, by Ruth Holmes Whitehead (Nimbus Publishing)

Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing
Black Loyalists, by Ruth Holmes Whitehead (Nimbus Publishing)
Jeremiah Bancroft at Fort Beauséjour & Grand-Pré, by Jonathan Fowler and Earle Lockerby, editors (Gaspereau Press)
Loyalist Rebellion in New Brunswick, by David Bell (Formac)

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award
Cinnamon Toast and the End of the World, by Janet Cameron   (Hachette Books)
Tailings of Warren Peace, by Stephen Law (Roseway Publishing)
Turn Us Again, by Charlotte Mendel (Roseway Publishing)

Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction
Blood on a Saint, by Anne Emery (ECW Press)
Fallsy Downsies, by Stephanie Domet (Invisible Publishing)
Waldenstein, by Rosalie Osmond (Seraphim Editions)

Dartmouth Book Award for Non-Fiction
Black Loyalists, by Ruth Holmes Whitehead (Nimbus Publishing)
Merry Hell, by Captain Robert Clements (University of Toronto Press)
Scapegoat, by Joel Zemel (SVP Productions)

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature
Nix Minus One, by Jill MacLean (Pajama Press)
The Power of Harmony, by Jan Coates (Red Deer Press)
The Stowaways, by Meghan Marentette (Pajama Press)

APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award
Acorn Press, for Ni’n na L’nu: The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island, by AJB Johnston and Jesse Francis
Formac Publishing, for Bluenose Adventure, by Jacqueline Halsey and Eric Orchard, illustrator
Goose Lane Editions, for Masterworks from the Beaverbrook Art Gallery, by Terry Graff, editor

Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration
Deanne Fitzpatrick, Singily Skipping Along (Nimbus)
Susan Tooke, Lasso the Wind: Aurélia’s Verses and Other Poems (Nimbus)
Leonard Paul, Pisim Finds Her Miskanow (Portage & Main Press)

PEI Book Award for Fiction
Ghost Boy of MacKenzie House, by Patti Larsen (Acorn Press)
Dirty Bird, by Keir Lowther (Tightrope Books)
RipTides: New Island Fiction, by Richard Lemm, editor (Acorn Press)

PEI Book Award for Non-Fiction
Ni’n na L’nu: The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island, by AJB Johnston and Jesse Francis (Acorn Press)
Lionel F. Stevenson Fifty Years of Photographs/Cinquante ans de photographie (1962-2012), by Pan Wendt (Acorn Press)
The Master’s Wife: The Book and the Place, by John Flood, editor (Penumbra Press)

More from Atlantic Books Today

Fresh Fish finalists

The shortlist for one of Canada’s most lucrative literary prizes for new...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *