Atlantic Book Awards winners for 2014 announced

book awards stickerThe winners of the 2014 Atlantic Book Awards were announced on Wednesday night in a ceremony held at the Delta Prince Edward-Prince Edward Island Convention Centre in Charlottetown, PEI.

CBC Radio’s Matt Rainnie hosted the sold-out event, which presented the wide range of literary works being produced in Atlantic Canada—from traditional novels to cutting edge fiction, thought-provoking non-fiction and to poetry, and illustrated children’s picture books to novels written for teens and young adults. Three PEI Book Awards were given out for non-fiction, fiction and poetry. This marks the first time the event has taken place on PEI.

The 11 award-winning books, publishers, authors and illustrators are:

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature: Nix Minus One by Jill MacLean, published by Pajama Press

Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association’s Best Atlantic-Published Book Award, Sponsored by Friesens Corporation: Acorn Press for Ni’n na L’nu: The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island by Jesse Francis and A.J.B. Johnston

Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing, Sponsored by Marquis Book Printing: Black Loyalists: Southern Settlers of Nova Scotia’s First Free Black Communities by Ruth Holmes Whitehead, published by Nimbus Publishing

Dartmouth Book Award for Non-fiction in Memory of Robbie Robertson presented by the Kiwanis Club of Dartmouth: Scapegoat: the extraordinary legal proceedings following the 1917 Halifax Explosion by Joel Zemel, published by New World Publishing

Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing: The August Gales: The Tragic Loss of Fishing Schooners in the North Atlantic, 1926 and 1927 by Gerald Hallowell, published by Nimbus Publishing

Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction) presented by Boyne Clarke: Fallsy Downsies by Stephanie Domet, published by Invisible Publishing

Lillian Shepherd Award for Excellence in Illustration: Susan Tooke for Lasso the Wind: Aurélia’s Verses and Other Poems written by George Elliott Clarke, published by Nimbus Publishing

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award sponsored by Collins Barrow, Weed Man and the Savage Family: Turn Us Again by Charlotte R. Mendel, published by Roseway Publishing

PEI Book Award – Fiction (part of the Prince Edward Island Book Awards): Riptides: New Island Fiction edited by Richard Lemm, published by Acorn Press

PEI Book Award – Non-Fiction (part of the Prince Edward Island Book Awards)Ni’n na L’nu: The Mi’kmaq of Prince Edward Island by Jesse Francis and A.J.B. Johnston, published by Acorn Press

PEI Book Award – Poetry (part of the Prince Edward Island Book Awards): The TWIG Collective – A Gathering of Twigs edited by P. Susan Buchanan and Margot Maddison-MacFadyen, published by TWiG Publications

Written By

Kim Hart Macneill is a journalist and magazine editor whose work has appeared in This Magazine, Canadian Business, and East Coast Living. She divides her time between Halifax and Moncton.

More from Kim Hart Macneill

Cooking up a Storm Facebook contest winner

The winner is Laurie from Halifax! Thank you to all who entered and liked...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *