Atlantic Book Awards

The nominations are in for this year’s crop of Atlantic Book Awards, which acknowledge excellence in Atlantic Canadian writing and book publishing. This year, Atlantic Book Festival celebrations will be held May 14–21 in all four Atlantic provinces, leading up to the big awards gala on May 21 at the Delta Prince Edward / PEI Convention Centre in Charlottetown. New this year: the PEI Book Awards…

Fresh Fish finalists

The shortlist for one of Canada’s most lucrative literary prizes for new authors was announced in early October in St. John’s, NL. The 2013 Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union Fresh Fish Award for Emerging Writers offers a cash prize of $5,000, and $1,000 in professional editing services for the best unpublished manuscript written by a resident of the province who is not published in book form.The…

Canada reads top 40

Nova Scotia author Lesley Choyce’s book, The Republic of Nothing (Goose Lane Editions), has made it onto the Canada Reads top 40 list of “books that will change your perspective on the world.” The Top 10 will be revealed on November 12. To find out more, go to  

Order of Canada

Order of Canada

Freeman Patterson, photographer and author of Freeman Patterson: Embracing Creation (Goose Lane Editions) has been named to the Order of New Brunswick. Known the world over for his exceptional talent, Patterson has authored numerous books and has influenced a generation of photographers.  

Harvard man

George Elliott Clarke has been appointed the William Lyon Mackenzie King Visiting Associate Professor of Canadian Studies at Harvard University. He is currently teaching an undergraduate English course that looks at African-Canadian literature and a graduate seminar that offers cross-cultural, transnational readings of Black-authored epic poems, would-be epic poems, and book-length verse-narratives-from Canada, the Caribbean, and the United States.  

Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize

In late September,  The Writers’ Trust of Canada revealed the finalists for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Again, we saw that writers from this region are a force to be reckoned with. The list—foreshadowing the Giller shortlist—included Lynn Coady for Hellgoing and Lisa Moore for Caught. The prize will be presented on November 20 in Toronto.  

Quebec Writers Federation Awards

Anne Renaud’s book, The Extraordinary Life of Anna Swan (published by CBU Press) has been shortlisted for the Quebec Writers’ Federation Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature. Also shortlisted, for the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction, is Beach Reading by Lorne Elliott (Acorn Press). Winners will be announced November 19.