Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Book Arts at the Market: A Celebration of Print Culture in Wolfville

August 5, 2015 @ 4:00 pm - 7:00 pm ADT

Free

Community Wednesday Night at the Wolfville Farmers’ Market:  

Book Arts at the Market: A Celebration of Print Culture in Wolfville(August 5th, 4-7pm)

It takes a community to make a book!

Join us at the market on August 5th, where the Wolfville Farmers’ Market and The Box of Delights Bookshop will be celebrating the enduring presence of books and print culture. Book Arts at the Market brings together the broader community of print culture in order to showcase  the art and craft of the book. Come and meet authors, artists, publishers, editors, binders, printers, booksellers, and many more, all working together to promote books, literacy, and readership. The Bookmobile will be with us too, bringing stories to life with a StoryWalk and readings for kids.

This celebration features 10 organizations and takes place during the regular Wednesday Community Market and Supper with over 30 vendors, Caleb Miles performing live music, and a wonderful community vibe.

Book Arts Participants:

Annapolis Valley Regional Library – Visit the Bookmobile, take a StoryWalk, get a library card, check out a book, or Read & Play with the library! Staff from the Annapolis Valley Regional Library will be on hand to bring stories, books, and more to life. We’ll even have prizes for those who participate in our StoryWalk.

The Box of Delights Bookshop – Founded in 1976, The Box of Delights Bookshop is an independent bookstore and informal centre for print culture in Wolfville, NS. They carry new books, used books, and printed ephemera with a special focus on local print artists, and also host a variety of public events. They are committed to the idea that small bookshops play a vital cultural role in our communities by providing an informed and engaging forum for literary discovery. More information can be found by visiting 466 Main Street, or their website.

Carolyn Mallory – Painted Skies is the story of two young girls, Leslie and Oolipika, who share Leslie’s first experience of Northern Lights. Being new to the North, Leslie is surprised and a little frightened by the bright moving lights. Oolipika shares with her a traditional Inuit story about the lights. Wonderfully illustrated by Amei Zhao, this picture book will introduce young readers/listeners to both Inuit culture and Northern Lights.

Conundrum Press – “Based in Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Andy Brown’s Conundrum Press has quietly become a major force in alt-comics publishing” — The Comics Journal

Daphne Greer – A local author who loves to inspire children/adults to follow their dreams. Daphne is involved in Writers in the Schools where she does school visits.

The story for Daphne’s book, Jacob’s Landing, is set in Newport Landing, based on historical facts connected with the Avon River Heritage Museum. It is her love letter to the community in which she lives.

Deep Hollow Print – Deep Hollow Print is a letterpress print shop and graphic design business owned and operated by Laura MacDonald in the Annapolis Valley. Laura’s experiences at Gaspereau Press in Kentville, Nova Scotia and Hatch Show Print in Nashville, Tennessee forged her passion for printmaking, and led to her infatuation with ink, paper, typography, and dirty old machines. Laura started up Deep Hollow Print in 2013, printing on a Nolan Proof Press or her Vandercook No. 3, using antique wood and metal type and original carved linoblocks. She specializes in gig posters, but can also create custom letterpress orders and digital graphic design. Retail posters and cards are for sale at the Box of Delights Bookshop in Wolfville.

Editors Canada and the Indexing Society of Canada – An Editors Canada editor can help you say what you mean, making your message clear, correct, attractive, and appropriate to your market. Editors work on all kinds of communication projects, from personal resumés to corporate reports, from neighbourhood newsletters to best-selling books. An editor can make your life easier. What will an indexer bring to your project? Indexers are trained to write a comprehensive and useful index that will help your readers find information on significant topics.

Fernwood Publishing – Fernwood Publishing and their literary imprint, Roseway, publish critical books that inform, enlighten and challenge. They believe that in publishing books that challenge the status quo and imagine new ways forward, they participate in the creation of a more socially just world, and are proud to publish those individuals or ideas that too often go unheard. As an independent Canadian publisher, they also emphasize, though not exclusively, Canadian authors and the Canadian context. The quality of the books published and the relationships with authors demonstrate that every member of their small team is dedicated to the publishing and political goals of social justice.

Grapevine Publishing – The Grapevine is a free bi-weekly publication that covers events, arts, and culture in the Annapolis Valley.

Ink & Oyster Publishing – Every life is a story. Ink & Oyster Publishing creates heirloom books to tell those stories. Designed to be given to friends, family, and community, our book are for anyone who desires to share their life story, preserve family history, or better know the lives of those they love.

J.D. GoossensTo Lain Roads is the story of likably awkward Nathan Mills, he has never told the truth about his relationship with Layne Rhodes. He is now writing his memoirs, coming clean for the first time. From fleeing the even-flow of small town Ontario for fast-paced Vancouver, Nathan recalls his clumsy go at independence. He regales with his follies as a boyish salesman in the cutthroat paint industry, the funneling events that led to his rooming with Layne Rhodes and their circus-like time spent together. But still, why has Nathan lied about Layne to everyone he knows? What is he hiding?

Medford Beach Books – Medford Beach Books are handmade notebooks that feature traditional bookbinding techniques. Inspiration for these limited edition books is often found along the shores of the Minas Basin here in the Annapolis Valley.

Soren Bondrup-Nielsen – Merging is a book about relationships and the way our perspective shifts as we become attuned to the natural world, merging with our surroundings and the creatures that share them. Working in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau and Aldo Leopold, Soren catalogues the rich biodiversity of his own backyard, exploring the fields, dyke roads and woodland trails around his home in the agricultural heartland of the Annapolis Valley. The narrative engages subjects such as the merits of large-scale and small-scale farming and forestry practices, the challenge of fostering sustainable economies in rural communities and the impact our consumer choices have on the natural and economic health of the places we live.

Ticket Auction Prizes:   Everyone who comes to the event gets free tickets to enter to win prizes of their choice

Annapolis Valley Regional Library: A gift bag of summer reading goodies

Carolyn Mallory: A copy of “Painted Skies”

Daphne Greer: A copy of “Jacob’s Landing”

Fernwood Publishing: A copy of “Debriefing Elsipogtog – The Anatomy of a Struggle”

J.D. Goossens: A book tote from Thirty-One Gifts Canada

Learn more on Facebook (@wolffvillefarmersmarket) and on Twitter (@wolffamrmarket)

Venue

Wolfville Farmers’ Market
24 Elm Ave
Wolfville, B4P 2S3 Canada
+ Google Map
Phone:
(902) 697-3344
Website:
http://www.wolfvillefarmersmarket.ca/

Our events calendar is created with Facebook Events – to add your event, send an invite to your Facebook Event to us on Facebook