Finalists Announced for 2018 Atlantic Book Awards

The Awards will be given out in Paul O’Regan Hall, Halifax Central Library, on Thursday, May 10 at 7:00 pm

On Monday at Halifax City Hall, publishers, writers and other book lovers gathered for the announcement of the 2018 Atlantic Book Award finalists. Mayor Mike Savage, for whose parents the Margaret and John Savage Book Awards are named, spoke sincerely of his mother’s love of books, poetry and story in his introductory remarks.

Writers  Alexander MacLeod and Donna Morrissey took turns presenting the names of the finalists, their books and publishers.

Nominees had a chance to get to mingle after the formalities. Carol Bruneau is nominated for the Jim Connors Dartmouth Book Award (Fiction) and the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award; Jen Powley is nominated for the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award (Non-Fiction).

Here, Atlantic Book Award for Scholarly Writing finalist Karolyn Smardz Frost stands with festival coordinator Laura Carter:

Robbie Robertson Dartmouth Book Award (Non-fiction) finalist Quentin Casey with Joan Baxter, whose The Mill is nominated in four categories: scholarly writing, Dartmouth Book Award (non-fiction), Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing, and the Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award:

Written By

Chris Benjamin is the author of three award-winning, critically-acclaimed books: Indian School Road: Legacies of the Shubenacadie Residential School; Eco-Innovators: Sustainability in Atlantic Canada and Drive-by Saviours; as well as several short stories in anthologies and journals.

More from Chris Benjamin

Just Jen

There is nothing extraordinary about me or my situation; what is interesting...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *