Pottersfield Press Launches Prize for Creative Nonfiction

First and second prize winners will receive a publishing contract

Pottersfield Press has published such distinguished nonfiction authors as Harold Horwood, Thomas Raddall, Joan Baxter, Neil Peart, Jon Tattrie, Steven Laffoley, Lindsay Ruck, Jim Lotz, Claire Mowat, Harry Thurston and many others. Now the press hopes to further enhance its creative nonfiction publishing program with the first annual Pottersfield Prize for Creative Nonfiction.

Pottersfield is looking for submissions from writers who can provide a manuscript of 30,000 to 150,000 words in any of the following categories: history, memoir, autobiography, biography, literary journalism, political or social commentary, travel writing or virtually any existing or new category that uses the nonfiction medium to tell a story or put forward an idea.

Creative nonfiction is becoming the most popular genre in publishing today and we would like to find new manuscripts to add to our growing list of books.

The First Prize winner will receive a contract for the publication of the winning book along with a $1,500 advance on 10 percent royalty for all sales. The Second Prize winner will also see the publication of the book and a $1,000 advance on 10 percent royalties.

Deadline is March 30, 2018 but early submissions are encouraged. Applicants should submit a manuscript electronically as a double-spaced basic Word document to pottersfieldcreative@gmail.com. A title page with the applicant’s name, mailing address and email address should be included. There is an entry fee of $25 (including HST) that can be paid by Interac Transfer to pottersfieldcreative@gmail.com or by cheque made out to Pottersfield Press mailed to 248 Leslie Rd. East Lawrencetown, NS B2Z 1T4 Canada after the manuscript has been submitted by email.

Pottersfield Press was founded in 1978 and has published more than 180 books by some of the Canada’s finest writers.

Written By

Lesley Choyce is the author of 87 books. He runs Pottersfield Press and has been teaching English and Creative Writing at Dalhousie for over thirty years. He has won the Dartmouth Book Award, Atlantic Poetry Prize, the Ann Connor Brimer Award and has been shortlisted for the Stephen Leacock Medal and the Governor General's Award.

More from Lesley Choyce

Final call for The Second Annual Pottersfield Prize for Creative Nonfiction

First Prize winner will receive a contract for the publication of the...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *